World Series of Darts

The World Series of Darts was a concept thought of by the PDC, to help grow the game across the globe. So far the World Series of Darts has been a huge success. As the sport has seen a huge growth in the areas the tour has been.


The World Series of Darts is one of the most unique darts tournaments organised by the PDC each year. Featuring a series of different tournaments, the World Series of Darts was established in 2013 and has shifted between featuring anything from two to seven tournaments. 

Some of the PDC’s top stars face a number of local qualifiers in a knockout format as they attempt to qualify for the World Series Finals. There are a number of Darts Masters tournaments held over the course of the season and throughout the world which will see players qualify for the Finals. 


As of 2019, there were five World Series events held that would see players qualify for the World Series Finals. Those events were:


  • 2019 US Darts Masters
  • 2019 German Darts Masters
  • 2019 Brisbane Darts Masters
  • 2019 Melbourne Darts Masters
  • 2019 New Zealand Darts Masters


The top eight players from those five tournaments are then seeded in the Finals, while the next four highest-ranked players from the PDC Order of Merit following the World Grand Prix final then automatically qualify. A further eight players will then be invited by the PDC, with the remaining four places being made up of Tour Card Holder Qualifiers.

It is a straight knockout format, with the top eight players joining the eight first-round winners in the second round of the competition. There is an increasing number of legs featured in each game the further the World Series of Darts goes, moving in the following format:


  • First Round – Best of 11 Legs
  • Second Round – Best of 11 Legs
  • Quarter-Finals – Best of 19 Legs
  • Semi-Finals – Best of 21 Legs
  • Final – Best of 21 Legs

Player Performances

Michael van Gerwen is the most successful player in the history of the tournament, claiming 15 victories in World Series events. Phil Taylor and Gary Anderson follow in second and third with eight and six wins respectively, while Peter Wright is on three victories. 

Since the World Series of Darts Finals was introduced in 2015, van Gerwen has come out victorious in four of the five editions of the Finals. The only other player with a World Series Finals victory to their name is James Wade, who defeated Michael Smith 11-10 in a thrilling final back in 2018. 



Tournament Winners