2022 Cazoo Grand Slam of Darts qualification criteria confirmed

Prior to the competition in November at the Aldersley Leisure Village, the qualifications for the 2022 Cazoo Grand Slam of Darts have been made official.

From November 12 to 20, Wolverhampton will host the illustrious 32-player competition, which will feature the best stars in the sport competing for the coveted Eric Bristow Trophy.

This year’s field is headlined by reigning champion Gerwyn Price, who won his third Grand Slam title 12 months ago, along with World Champion Peter Wright and three-time winner Michael van Gerwen, who just won the Premier League title.

The 16 berths in this year’s Grand Slam will be filled by the winners of PDC televised events throughout a 12-month period, and 11 of those positions are presently occupied.

Along with Joe Cullen, the winner of the Masters, and Danny Noppert, the winner of the UK Open, Price, Wright, and Van Gerwen are among the athletes who have triumphed in televised competitions during the qualifying season.

After leading Australia to their first-ever Cazoo World Cup of Darts victory in Frankfurt earlier this month, Damon Heta and Simon Whitlock will also compete.

Michael Smith, who finished second in the World Championship, has already qualified, along with Dave Chisnall, Ryan Searle, and Jonny Clayton.

Players have four more opportunities to clinch their place through televised competitions with the Betfred World Matchplay, BoyleSports World Grand Prix, Cazoo European Championship, and Jack’s World Series of Darts Finals.

The Grand Slam winner in 2020, Jose De Sousa, has yet to schedule his Wolverhampton comeback, and James Wade and Gary Anderson are also striving to maintain their ever-present records in the competition.

Winners from the 2022 PDC European Tour and later Players Championship events, however, might also secure Grand Slam credentials if the 16 spaces are not filled from the televised tournaments.

Before the 32-player field is finished with a further eight qualifiers on November 6, an additional eight players will enter through the PDC Tour Card Holder Qualifier.

Ted Evetts, the current World Youth champion, and Nathan Rafferty, last year’s runner-up, have both verified that they have qualified, while Leonard Gates, the winner of the North American Championship, will compete in his first PDC Premier event.

The trio will be joined by the Challenge Tour, Development Tour and Women’s Series Order of Merit winners, as well as the inaugural Women’s World Matchplay and PDC Asian Championship winners.

2022 Cazoo Grand Slam of Darts qualification criteria confirmed
2022 Cazoo Grand Slam of Darts qualification criteria confirmed (PDC)

2022 Cazoo Grand Slam of Darts

Qualifying Players (invited in the following order)

2021/22 PDC World Champion – PETER WRIGHT – 1

2021 Grand Slam Champion – GERWYN PRICE – 2

2022 Premier League Champion – MICHAEL VAN GERWEN – 3

2022 World Matchplay Champion

2022 World Grand Prix Champion

2022 Masters Champion – JOE CULLEN – 4

2022 UK Open Champion – DANNY NOPPERT – 5

2022 European Champion

2021 Players Championship Finals Champion (Peter Wright)

2022 World Series of Darts Finals Champion

2022 World Cup Champions x2 – DAMON HETA & SIMON WHITLOCK – 6+7

2021/22 PDC World Championship runner-up – MICHAEL SMITH – 8

2021 Grand Slam runner-up (Peter Wright)

2022 Premier League runner-up (Joe Cullen)

2022 World Matchplay runner-up

2022 World Grand Prix runner-up

2022 Masters runner-up – DAVE CHISNALL – 9

2022 UK Open runner-up (Michael Smith)

2022 European Championship runner-up

2021 Players Championship Finals runner-up – RYAN SEARLE – 10

2022 World Series of Darts Finals runner-up

2022 World Cup runners-up x2 – (Gerwyn Price) & JONNY CLAYTON – 11


2022 European Tour Event Winners

In order of number of event wins and then PDC Ranking Order –

Currently (provisional qualifiers listed in capitals):

LUKE HUMPHRIES (3), (Michael van Gerwen x3), (Gerwyn Price), (Michael Smith)


2022 Players Championship Event Winners

In order of number of event wins and then PDC Ranking Order

Currently (provisional qualifiers listed in capitals):

(Michael Smith x3), (Michael van Gerwen x2), (Joe Cullen x2), (Peter Wright), (Gerwyn Price), (Damon Heta), (Luke Humphries), DIRK VAN DUIJVENBODE, RYAN SEARLE, NATHAN ASPINALL, JIM WILLIAMS, Scott Williams, Danny Jansen.


PDC Tour Card Holder Qualifier

8x Players (Sunday November 6)


Additional Qualifiers

2021 World Youth Champion – TED EVETTS

2021 World Youth Championship runner-up – NATHAN RAFFERTY

2022 Challenge Tour Order of Merit Winner

2022 Development Tour Order of Merit Winner

2022 Women’s World Matchplay Winner

2022 Women’s Series Order of Merit Winner        

2022 PDC Asian Championship Winner        

2022 North American Championship Winner – LEONARD GATES