Jansen claims maiden title at Players Championship 9

Danny Jansen, who only become a professional three months ago, won his first PDC ranking title at Players Championship Nine in Barnsley on Friday.

Jansen defeated Andrew Gilding 8-6 in the final after defeating Peter Wright, Dave Chisnall, and Krzysztof Ratajski earlier in the tournament.

The 19-year-old Dutchman, who only started playing in 2016, wins the £10,000 top prize in only his ninth Players Championship event since receiving his maiden PDC Tour Card in January.


I’m feeling so good, this is unbelievable,” said Jansen.

“It’s crazy, I thought I would be able to win games on the tour but to win a title so early is more than I expected.

“I love to play here in the PDC with the big names in darts, and now I feel I belong among them.

“My target this year is to qualify for the World Championship.”


Jansen began his day with victories against Radek Szaganski and William O’Connor, followed by a 6-5 victory over world number one Wright to advance to the final 16.

He then defeated Chris Dobey and Chisnall in the quarter-finals and semi-finals, respectively, after winning another deciding leg against Ratajski.

Meanwhile, Gilding’s outstanding form in 2022 helped him reach his first ProTour final since 2014, with victory in the semi-finals over Rob Cross, Jose de Sousa, and UK Open champion Danny Noppert.

In his opening round loss to Mike De Decker, Simon Whitlock struck the 14th nine-darter in PDC events this year.

Glen Durrant, the former Premier League champion, won his first two PDC matches since July 2021, defeating Tony Martinez and Dimitri Van den Bergh before losing 6-4 to Dave Chisnall.

This weekend’s ProTour action begins on Saturday with Players Championships Ten.


2022 Players Championship 9

Friday April 1

Last 16

Mario Vandenbogaerde 6-4 Madars Razma

Dave Chisnall 6-5 Kim Huybrechts

Danny Jansen 6-5 Krzysztof Ratajski

Chris Dobey 6-2 Callan Rydz

Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Jonny Clayton

Danny Noppert 6-4 Gary Anderson

Jose de Sousa 6-4 Raymond van Barneveld

Andrew Gilding 6-4 Rob Cross



Dave Chisnall 6-4 Mario Vandenbogaerde

Danny Jansen 6-4 Chris Dobey

Danny Noppert 6-2 Michael van Gerwen

Andrew Gilding 6-3 Jose de Sousa



Danny Jansen 7-6 Dave Chisnall

Andrew Gilding 7-4 Danny Noppert



Danny Jansen 8-6 Andrew Gilding