Canada’s Matt Campbell is crowned the 2024 PDC North American Champion, defeating Stowe Buntz in the final X-X at the iconic Madison Square Garden.

Campbell saved his best performance of the day for when it mattered most as he edged Buntz in the final to win 6-4, sealing the win with a 121 checkout on the bullseye and averaged a more than respectable 95 on route.

Campbell reflected to PDC stating: “I wasn’t sure I’d won, I thought there might’ve been one more leg! 

“I’m happy with the win and how I played today, I think I deserved it.

“I want to win this title again next year, I need to tie with Jeff!”

“I tried my best but Matt was spot on, he didn’t miss,” Buntz reflected.

“I felt more comfortable as the day went on and I felt like we were going to go to a decider, but well done to Matt for the 121 finish.

“My goal is still to qualify for the Grand Slam – I love Wolverhampton – and to make it to the World Championship again.”

Campbell defeated fellow countryman Jeff Smith in his first match of the day. He overcame a 3-1 deficit to win the next win 5 of the next 6 legs to win 6-4. Smith hit a 120 and 124 checkout to hold on both occasions but Campbell stepped up to the plate to reel off three legs in a row and checked out in 16, 15 and 15 dart legs.

His semi-final matchup was against his compatriot David Cameron, winning by the same scoreline as in his first match. Cameron flew out of the floodgates and raced into a 3-0 lead with 17, 20 and 18 legs. Campbell once again fought hard and showed perseverance to force another comeback and produce the goods to win 6 of the next 7 legs.

Buntz’s route to the final resulted in comfortable 6-3 and 6-2 wins against Jules van Dongen and Adam Sevada respectively. The 2023 Grand Slam quarter-finalist averaged 81 in both his opening matches, but the final his 88.78 average wasn’t quite enough to force the game into a last leg decider.


Final (Best of 11)

Matt Campbell Stowe Buntz

Semi-Finals (Best of 11)

Matt Campbell 6-4 David Cameron

Stowe Buntz 6-2 Adam Sevada

Quarter-Finals (Best of 11)

Matt Campbell 6-4 Jeff Smith

David Cameron 6-5 Alex Spellman

Adam Sevada 6-3 Danny Lauby

Stowe Buntz 6-3 Jules van Dongen