2023 Betfred World Matchplay Day Three

From Super Sunday to Manic Monday. The world is still coming round to the news that the defending champion is out, but the darting world will turn its focus to the four games we have this evening.

Wright Hoping to Rekindle Form

Two Time World Champion and 2021 World Matchplay Champion, Peter Wright takes on the current UK Open Andrew Gilding.

Peter Wright holding the Betfred World Matchplay title
Peter Wright after his 2021 World Matchplay win

Peter Wright has struggled with his form this year and faces the prospect of a huge slide in the rankings with him defending his winnings from 2 years ago and World Championship winnings at the end of the year.

Snakebite will need to reach the Final just to maintain his spot in second and he faces a daunting task with Andrew Gilding already picking up a TV title this year.

Barny Back In Blackpool

Raymond van Barneveld returns to the iconic Winter Gardens for the first time since 2018.

The Blackpool crowd will be enjoying hearing eye of the tiger again, but it will need to be focus from Van Barneveld when he takes on Ryan Searle.

Raymond van Barneveld returns to Blackpool

Ryan Searle who is credited with helping Gary Anderson returning to form being his practice partner for this year but Heavy Metal will be looking to make headlines for himself and will need to get better of the Barny Army in Blackpool.

Also on Monday Night

Dimitri Van den Bergh takes on Ross Smith. The Belgian will arrive at the Empress Ballroom in confident mood, after defeating home favourite Krzysztof Ratajski and top seed Gerwyn Price to reach last weekend’s Poland Darts Masters final.

Betfred World Matchplay
Dimitri Hoping for a second World Matchplay title

The Final game of the first round will see 2023 World Championship Semi Finalist Gabriel Clemens take on recently crowned World Champion Jonny Clayton

2023 Betfred World Matchplay

Monday July 17 (1900 BST)

4x First Round

Dimitri Van den Bergh v Ross Smith

Ryan Searle v Raymond van Barneveld

Peter Wright v Andrew Gilding

Jonny Clayton v Gabriel Clemens