2023 Betfred World Matchplay schedule, results and how to watch

The 2023 Betfred World Matchplay gets underway from the iconic Winter Gardens in Blackpool this Saturday, 15th July and here we give you everything in one place.


The World Matchplay will be held for the 30th time, with incumbent champion Michael van Gerwen leading a quality 32-player field that includes six previous winners.

World number one Michael Smith and last year’s runner-up Gerwyn Price will also fight for £800,000 in prize money over nine days of action from July 15-23.

The top 16 players from the PDC Order of Merit will face the top 16 qualifiers from the ProTour Order of Merit in the first round, with Van Gerwen facing Brendan Dolan in his opening round match.

Following his record-breaking seventh Premier League triumph with World Series victories in New York and Warsaw, the Dutchman is bubbling with confidence ahead of his return to Blackpool.

Just Click Here, and we take you through it step by step.

2023 Betfred World Matchplay schedule, results and how to watch
2023 Betfred World Matchplay schedule, results and how to watch (PDC)

2023 Betfred World Matchplay Schedule of Play

Saturday July 15 (1900 BST)

4x First Round

Joe Cullen 10-7 Mike De Decker

Daryl Gurney 12-10 Rob Cross

Gerwyn Price 10-3 Stephen Bunting

Gary Anderson 10-6 Dave Chisnall


Sunday July 16

Afternoon Session (1300 BST)

4x First Round

Danny Noppert 10-8 Martin Schindler

Dirk van Duijvenbode 12-10 Kim Huybrechts

Damon Heta 10-5 Josh Rock

Chris Dobey 10-8 James Wade

Evening Session

4x First Round

Nathan Aspinall 10-7 Krzysztof Ratajski

Luke Humphries 10-2 Jose de Sousa

Brendan Dolan 10-7 Michael van Gerwen

Michael Smith 10-2 Steve Beaton


Monday July 17 (1900 BST)

4x First Round

Dimitri Van den Bergh 10-8 Ross Smith

Ryan Searle 10-4 Raymond van Barneveld

Peter Wright 10-4 Andrew Gilding

Jonny Clayton 10-8 Gabriel Clemens


Tuesday July 18 (1900 BST)

4x Second Round

Daryl Gurney 11-4 Gary Anderson

Nathan Aspinall 11-9 Danny Noppert

Joe Cullen 13-11 Gerwyn Price

Chris Dobey 11-7 Michael Smith


Wednesday July 19 (1900 BST)

4x Second Round

Damon Heta 11-1 Brendan Dolan

Jonny Clayton 11-6 Dimitri Van den Bergh

Ryan Searle 11-8 Peter Wright

Luke Humphries 14-12 Dirk van Duijvenbode


Thursday July 20 (2000 BST)

2x Quarter-Finals

Joe Cullen 16-11 Daryl Gurney

Nathan Aspinall 16-12 Chris Dobey


Friday July 21 (2000 BST)

2x Quarter-Finals

Jonny Clayton 16-12 Ryan Searle

Luke Humphries 16-13 Damon Heta


Saturday July 22 (2000 BST)


Nathan Aspinall 17-9 Joe Cullen

Jonny Clayton 17-15 Luke Humphries

Sunday July 23

Afternoon Session (1300 BST)

Betfred Women’s World Matchplay


Beau Greaves v Noa-Lynn van Leuven

Robyn Byrne v Rhian O’Sullivan

Mikuru Suzuki v Aileen de Graaf

Fallon Sherrock v Lisa Ashton



Greaves/Van Leuven v Byrne/O’Sullivan

Suzuki/De Graaf v Sherrock/Ashton





Evening Session (2000 BST)

Betfred World Matchplay



Schedule subject to change. Schedule for second round onwards will be confirmed at PDC website and via @OfficialPDC social media channels.


Draw Bracket

(1) Michael Smith v Steve Beaton

(16) James Wade v Chris Dobey

(8) Danny Noppert v Martin Schindler

(9) Nathan Aspinall v Krzysztof Ratajski

(4) Gerwyn Price v Stephen Bunting

(13) Joe Cullen v Mike De Decker

(5) Rob Cross v Daryl Gurney

(12) Dave Chisnall v Gary Anderson

(2) Peter Wright v Andrew Gilding

(15) Ryan Searle v Raymond van Barneveld

(7) Jonny Clayton v Gabriel Clemens

(10) Dimitri Van den Bergh v Ross Smith

(3) Michael van Gerwen v Brendan Dolan

(14) Damon Heta v Josh Rock

(6) Luke Humphries v Jose de Sousa

(11) Dirk van Duijvenbode v Kim Huybrechts



First Round – Best of 19 legs

Second Round – Best of 21 legs

Quarter-Finals – Best of 31 legs

Semi-Finals – Best of 33 legs

Final – Best of 35 legs


Prize Fund

Winner – £200,000

Runner-Up – £100,000

Semi-Finalists – £50,000

Quarter-Finalists – £30,000

Second Round Losers – £15,000

First Round Losers – £10,000

Total – £800,000


Tournament Odds

4/1 Michael van Gerwen

9/2 Gerwyn Price

5/1 Michael Smith

14/1 Luke Humphries

16/1 Peter Wright

18/1 Jonny Clayton

20/1 Josh Rock

22/1 Dirk van Duijvenbode

25/1 Nathan Aspinall, Dave Chisnall, Gary Anderson, Rob Cross

28/1 Dimitri Van den Bergh

40/1 Danny Noppert

50/1 Damon Heta, Joe Cullen, James Wade, Ross Smith

66/1 Ryan Searle, Krzysztof Ratajski, Chris Dobey

80/1 Martin Schindler

100/1 Gabriel Clemens, Raymond van Barneveld

125/1 Daryl Gurney, Stephen Bunting, Andrew Gilding, Mike De Decker

150/1 Jose de Sousa

250/1 Brendan Dolan, Kim Huybrechts, Steve Beaton


Odds correct at time of writing and courtesy of Betfred.com. Subject to fluctuation.