Anderson fires in Nottingham

Gary Anderson won his first Cazoo Premier League night on Thursday at Nottingham’s Motorpoint Arena, putting on a display to deny Michael Smith his first league night triumph.

Anderson, a two-time Premier League champion, had his best night of the season in Nottingham, winning the £10,000 bonus and becoming the fifth different winner in six tournaments in 2022.

Anderson had not won a match since the season’s opening night in Cardiff, but he put himself back in contention in the league top with three wins in Nottingham.

“I’m off the bottom of the table and I’m happy,” said Anderson. “Just to get two points would have done me, I’d have been happy.

“It was a struggle against Jonny, I played a bit better against Peter and I played well against Michael. When I got to near the winning line I was panicking a bit!

“I’m surprised, after the way I’ve been playing. It’s been an absolute nightmare. It’s soul-destroying when you turn up week-in, week-out and get beaten, and you’re hitting 89 averages.

“Once we step on that stage, even if you know you’re struggling, you still want to win.

“On the practice board, everything’s fine but when I come up [on stage] everything’s not right so that’s up to me to sort out.”

Anderson fires in Nottingham (Taylor Lanning/PDC)
Anderson fires in Nottingham (Taylor Lanning/PDC)

The Cazoo Premier League will return to the Netherlands for the first time since 2019 for Night Seven next Thursday at Rotterdam Ahoy

Anderson will begin his bid for back-to-back wins against Cullen, while Wright meets Wade and Clayton plays Price in an all-Welsh encounter.


Cazoo Premier League


Night 6 – Motorpoint Arena, Nottingham

Thursday March 17



Michael Smith 6-1 James Wade

Gerwyn Price 6-4 Michael van Gerwen

Gary Anderson 6-5 Jonny Clayton

Peter Wright 6-4 Joe Cullen



Michael Smith 6-4 Gerwyn Price

Gary Anderson 6-3 Peter Wright



Gary Anderson 6-4 Michael Smith


Night 7 – Rotterdam Ahoy


Thursday March 24


Peter Wright v James Wade

Gary Anderson v Joe Cullen

Jonny Clayton v Gerwyn Price

Michael van Gerwen v Michael Smith