Michael van Gerwen defeated Mervyn King 11-10 to win the 2020 Players Championship Finals in an utter classic.

It marks the first time that the world number one has won a TV event since the UK Open in March, and the sixth time he’s picked up this title.

Van Gerwen beat Dirk van Duijvenbode and Gerwyn Price to make the showpiece match. King saw off Damon Heta and Gerwyn Price to make his first ranked final on TV since the 2012 World Grand Prix, where he also lost to MvG.

The Green Machine was not the only player to win a title at the 2020 Ladbrokes Players Championship Finals though. Bradley Brooks beat Joe Davis 6-5 to win a tense World Youth Championship Final.

Michael van Gerwen won the 2020 Players Championship Finals, his sixth title at this event. Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Big outshots give Van Gerwen advantage

The opening session was an excellent one, and set the tone for the final. After two holds, it would be the King, who broke first, finding an excellent 115 outshot with Van Gerwen on 32.

King would find another ton plus checkout in the next leg, hitting a 107 on the bull to take a 3-1 advantage. However, MvG would respond in kind with an astonishing 146 to hold and trail 3-2 at the first interval.

The Green Machine would come firing out the blocks after the break, finding a 12 and 13 darter to take a 4-3 lead. However, he missed four darts to win his fourth straight leg, allowing King to level with a double ten outshot. However, Van Gerwen would hold in the next leg, before hitting a stunning 160 outshot to break throw and take a 6-4 lead at the second interval.

Mervyn King is still waiting for his first televised PDC tournament win, after losing 11-10 to Michael van Gerwen. Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Van Gerwen conquers The King for sixth Players Championship Finals

King would break immediately after the interval, finding double 12 for an 11 darter. However, Van Gerwen would respond, finding a 120 checkout to go back two in front.

The world number one then missed double 16 for a 152, allowing King to find double 16 to break once more and get the game back on throw. Two further holds saw the Green Machine take an 8-7 lead into the final interval.

Van Gerwen looked like he had the match wrapped up thanks to a 135 finish on the bull, his fourth ton plus out of the contest, to go 9-7 up. However, The King would not go quietly, punishing two missed darts from MvG to find a spectacular 126 outshot on the bullseye to remain one behind.

Three holds of throw followed to see the match go to a decider, where King could not find the big darts required to keep up with van Gerwen. The Dutchman missed two for the match, and King found a 137 to leave 45. However, MvG would find double eight to hold in 17 darts, coming through arguably the final of 2020 on TV to win a record breaking sixth Players Championships Finals title.

Brooks wins World Youth Final

Van Gerwen was not only one to take home silverware this weekend. Bradley Brooks became the World Youth Champion on the final day of the Players Championship Finals, defeating Joe Davis 6-5.

In a tight and tense final, Brooks found a 104 checkout in a second leg, after Davis held in the first. The Blackburn man would find a 15 dart break, before Davis reeled off two straight legs himself to take a 3-2 lead.

The Brighton born youngster missed three darts in both of the next two legs to go further clear, allowing Bam Bam to win them both and take a 4-3 advantage. However, Brooks squandered six darts to win the eighth leg, allowing Davis to hit double ten and level once more.

After two holds, it all came down to a final leg. There, Brooks missed tops for the match, allowing Davis the chance to win it with a 103 checkout. However, he could not find it, and Bam Bam stepped up to find double 20 to take home his first ever PDC World Youth Championship. He joins the likes of Dimitri Van den Bergh, Michael Smith and Luke Humphries on the roll of honour, as well as winning a spot at the World Darts Championship and £10,000 in prize money.

2020 Players Championship Finals Day Three Results


Michael Van Gerwen 11-10 Mervyn King

Semi Finals

Mervyn King 11-4 Peter Wright

Michael van Gerwen 11-8 Gerwyn Price

Quarter Finals

Mervyn King 10-8 Damon Heta

Peter Wright 10-6 Michael Smith

Gerwyn Price 10-9 Joe Cullen

Michael van Gerwen 10-5 Dirk Van Duijvenbode

PDC World Youth Championship Final

Bradley Brooks 6-5 Joe Davis