2023 Premier League – The Final Four

After 16 gruelling weeks of Premier League action, travelling around the UK and parts of Europe, the field is whittled down to half, with our final four being confirmed in Aberdeen last Thursday.

The Premier League has lost four big names, Peter Wright, Chris Dobey, Dimitri Van den Bergh and Nathan Aspinall (only just). The four that remain will fight it out at the 02 for the Premier League title and the prize pot of £275,000.

Gerwyn Price – League Position 1st

The Iceman comes into finals night, tournament favourite after finishing six points clear of his nearest challenges. Gerwyn Price reached nine finals in sixteen weeks and picked up four nightly wins (Cardiff, Nottingham, Newcastle, & Brighton). His record of nine nightly finals is the highest of any player in the Premier League in this current format.

Gerwyn Price finished top of the league format

Price consistency showed throughout the year, with Price never going more than three weeks without reaching a nightly final and being the player with the most 100s, 140s and 180s across sixteen weeks.

Gerwyn Price Premier League record before this year isn’t one to shout home about, after never reaching the Finals night including, a disappointing 7th-placeth place finish last season.

Gerwyn Price 2023 Nightly Premier League Record

Won – 4

Runner up – 5

Semi-Final – 2

Quarter Final – 5

Michael Smith – League Position 2nd

World Champion Michael Smith matched the table topper with nightly wins but fell short of topping the table. Bully Boy equalled the yearly title wins as Jonny Clayton last year and Gerwyn Price this year winning a total of four (Glasgow, Leeds, Manchester, & Sheffield).

Smith looking to add to his World Title

Michael Smith won his first night in front of the Glasgow crowd on night three, before waiting 10 weeks before his second win in Leeds. At this time Michael Smith was in a battle for a top-four spot, and the World Champion found another gear winning two more nights, making it three on the spin, to cement his place in the top two.

Michael Smith Premier League Record

Won – 4

Runner up – 3

Semi-Final – 2

Quarter Final – 7

Michael van Gerwen – League Position 3rd

The Green Machine has played a Premier League of two halves. Michael collected 25 points in the first eight weeks, and only eight points in the second half of the season.

Like Michael Smith, MvG’s success came with a barrage of wins, with MvG winning three consecutive nightly wins, nights four, five and six (Dublin, Exeter, & Liverpool) which gave him nearly half his points.

Can MvG looking to overcome his shoulder injury.

Van Gerwen is making his tenth Play-Off appearance, a decade on from his maiden Premier League triumph in 2013.

The Dutchman has since celebrated wins in 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2022, and victory on Thursday will see Van Gerwen create further history by overhauling Taylor’s tally of six Premier League titles.

Michael van Gerwen withdrew from last week’s tournament, after defeating Chris Dobey in Quarter Final with a shoulder injury

Michael van Gerwen Premier League Record

Won – 3

Runner up – 2

Semi-Final – 6

Quarter Final – 5

Jonny Clayton – League Position 4th

Last year’s table topper had, to rely on a little help from his World Cup teammate to confirm his place in the Final Four.

Jonny Clayton had a sensational 2022 Premier League reaching 50% of the finals, which significantly dropped to 25% this year but it was enough to secure his place.

Clayton looking to win his Premier League title back

The Ferret edged out Nathan Aspinall with an extra night win, picking up two (Berlin & Birmingham) this year. Clayton does have the edge over the other finalist on doubling with a sensational 44% checkout ratio.

Jonny Clayton and Michael van Gerwen are the two players to have lifted the Premier League Title

Jonny Clayton Premier League Record

Won – 2

Runner up – 2

Semi-Final – 4

Quarter Final – 8

Semi Final 1

Gerwyn Price v Jonny Clayton

2023 Premier League Head-to-Head Record

Price 4-1 Clayton

Semi Final 2

Michael Smith v Michael van Gerwen

2023 Premier League Head-to-Head Record

Smith 2-2 Van Gerwen


Price/Clayton v Smith/Van Gerwen