The 64 player field and the first round draw for the 2021 Players Championship Finals has been finalised.

The players are made up of the top 64 on the Players Championship Order of Merit. The event returns to it’s spiritual home of Butlin’s Minehead, after being played in Coventry last year behind closed doors.

The tournament is scheduled to take place between Friday 26 and Sunday 28 November. There will be play across two stages for the first two days, with Sunday seeing all the action take place on the Main Stage.

World number one Gerwyn Price finished seventh on the Order of Merit, after choosing not to play in the final few events. He faces Jason Lowe in the opening round.

Meanwhile, defending champion Michael van Gerwen will kick off his quest for a third straight Players Championship Finals win against fellow Dutchman Kevin Doets.

Elsewhere, other intriguing first round ties see:

  • Top seed Jose De Sousa face Devon Petersen
  • Number two seed Peter Wright play young Irish star Keane Barry
  • Stephen Bunting take on Gary Anderson
  • Adrian Lewis play Kim Huybrechts
  • 2018 winner Daryl Gurney and Alan Soutar meet

The full schedule of play will be confirmed before the tournament begins.

Players Championship Finals
Michael van Gerwen will be looking to win his seventh Players Championship Finals. Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

2021 Players Championship Finals First Round Draw

Section One

(1) Jose De Sousa v (64) Devon Petersen

(32) Mervyn King v (33) Darius Labanauskas

(16) Chris Dobey v (49) William O’Connor

(17) Krzysztof Ratajski v (48) Ron Meulenkamp

(8) Gerwyn Price v (57) Jason Lowe

(25) Martin Schindler v (40) Ian White

(9) Brendan Dolan v (56) Chas Barstow

(24) Dave Chisnall v (41) Ritchie Edhouse

Section Two

(4) Michael Smith v (61) Willie Borland

(29) Daryl Gurney v (36) Alan Soutar

(13) Callan Rydz v (52) Mensur Suljovic

(20) James Wade v (45) Ricky Evans

(5) Ryan Searle v (60) Simon Whitlock

(28) Ryan Joyce v (37) Luke Woodhouse

(12) Rob Cross v (53) Jermaine Wattimena

(21) Nathan Aspinall v (44) Jeff Smith

Section Three

(2) Peter Wright v (63) Keane Barry

(31) Adrian Lewis v (34) Kim Huybrechts

(15) Damon Heta v (50) Steve Lennon

(18) Gabriel Clemens v (47) Steve Beaton

(7) Michael van Gerwen v (58) Kevin Doets

(26) Raymond van Barneveld v (39) Maik Kuivenhoven

(10) Dirk van Duijvenbode v (55) Ryan Meikle

(23) Stephen Bunting v (42) Gary Anderson

Section Four

(3) Jonny Clayton v (62) Alan Tabern

(30) Scott Mitchell v (35) Martijn Kleermaker

(14) Ross Smith v (51) Rusty-Jake Rodriguez

(19) Luke Humphries v (46) Jason Heaver

(6) Joe Cullen v (59) Andy Boulton

(27) Vincent van der Voort v (38) Jamie Hughes

(11) Dimitri Van den Bergh v (54) Madars Razma

(22) Danny Noppert v (43) Rowby-John Rodriguez

2021 Players Championship Finals Schedule of Play

Friday 26 November (12.45 GMT)

8 x Round One (Main Stage)

8 x Round One (Stage Two)

Friday 26 November (19.00 GMT)

8 x Round One (Main Stage)

8 x Round One (Stage Two)

Saturday 27 November (12.45 GMT)

8 x Round Two (Main Stage)

8 x Round Two (Stage Two)

Saturday 27 November (19.00 GMT)

4 x Round Three (Main Stage)

4 x Round Three (Stage Two)

Sunday 28 November (12.45 GMT)

4 x Quarter Finals (Main Stage)

Sunday 28 November (19.00 GMT)

2 x Semi Finals (Main Stage)

World Youth Championship Final (Main Stage)

Final (Main Stage)

2021 Players Championship Finals Format

Round One – First to 6 legs

Round Two – First to 6 legs

Round Three – First to 10 legs

Quarter Finals – First to 10 legs

Semi Finals – First to 11 legs

Final – First to 11 legs