Weekend Treble for Ashton as Women’s Series Dominated by Ashton and Sherrock

 On Sunday, Fallon Sherrock won the PDC Women’s Series for the first time in 2022, while Lisa Ashton secured a weekend treble in Barnsley.

Ashton had won back-to-back titles on Saturday’s opening day of the year’s 20-event PDC Women’s Series.

Sherrock, who lead the 2021 PDC Women’s Series Order of Merit, then won her first title of the year by defeating Jo Locke 5-3 in the opening round on Sunday.

The Milton Keynes star was denied a second win of the day as Ashton came back from a 4-2 deficit in the Event Four final to clinch her weekend hat-trick at the Barnsley Metrodome.

Following the first of five double-header weekends, the pair climbed ahead of Rhian Griffiths and Lorraine Winstanley at the top of the Order of Merit.

Sherrock was relentless in Event Three, losing only five legs in her first four games before sweeping Natalie Gilbert in the quarter-finals.

In the semi-finals, she defeated Aileen de Graaf 5-1, and in the final, she came back from a 3-1 deficit to defeat Locke in four straight legs.

Sherrock came agonisingly close to winning Event Four in the final against Ashton.

She fought back from a leg down to take the lead at 3-1, then added her second 14-darter of the final to take the lead at 4-2.

When Sherrock missed one dart at the bull for the title in leg eight, Ashton took advantage, completing 67 in the decider to win her third title of the weekend.

In her 5-3 semi-final win over Kirsty Hutchinson, Ashton averaged almost 96 and dropped only 10 legs in six games to reach the final.

The PDC Women’s Series resumes with Events Five-Eight in Wigan on April 30 and May 1, with a total prize pool of £20,000 up for grabs.

Weekend Treble for Ashton as Women’s Series Dominated by Ashton and Sherrock
Weekend Treble for Ashton as Women’s Series Dominated by Ashton and Sherrock (PDC)

2022 PDC Women’s Series

Event Three


Aileen de Graaf 4-0 Lerena Rietbergen

Fallon Sherrock 4-0 Natalie Gilbert

Rhian Griffiths 4-1 Roz Bulmer

Joanne Locke 4-1 Laura Turner


Fallon Sherrock 5-1 Aileen de Graaf

Joanne Locke 5-1 Rhian Griffiths


Fallon Sherrock 5-3 Joanne Locke


Event Four


Fallon Sherrock 4-0 Rhian O’Sullivan

Lorraine Winstanley 4-0 Jane Densley

Lisa Ashton 4-2 Aileen de Graaf

Kirsty Hutchinson 4-3 Trina Gulliver


Fallon Sherrock 5-2 Lorraine Winstanley

Lisa Ashton 5-3 Kirsty Hutchinson


Lisa Ashton 5-4 Fallon Sherrock