Michael van Gerwen ends his wait for ranking title

With a great comeback triumph over Rob Cross in Sunday’s Interwetten German Darts Championship final, Michael van Gerwen won for the first time on the PDC European Tour since 2019.

The Dutchman won his first ranking title of 2022 in style at Halle 39 in Hildesheim, following back-to-back Cazoo Premier League victories in Exeter and Brighton.

Van Gerwen’s last of 32 European Tour victories came in Graz in 2019, but he showed his class by defeating Cross 8-5 to win the £25,000 prize.

This includes a gutsy comeback in the final after Cross took 2-0 and 4-1 leads, with Van Gerwen scoring legs of 12, 13 and 12 darts to tie the game.

In leg nine, Cross took out 121 to reclaim the lead, but Van Gerwen drew level and took advantage of a tops miss from his opponent to take a 6-5 lead, which he maintained until legs 11 and 14 closed up the title.

Michael van Gerwen ends his wait for ranking title
Michael van Gerwen ends his wait for ranking title (Kais Bodensieck/PDC Europe)

MvG Post Match


“I’ve been working for this for a really long time and it means a lot to me,” said Van Gerwen, who returns to third on the PDC Order of Merit following the win.

“To win a [European Tour] tournament again feels absolutely phenomenal. I keep fighting and I never give up. I’m not done yet!

“Everyone knows I love to play tournaments in Germany – the crowds have been absolutely fantastic, and it means the world.”


Cross Post Match


“Michael played great and I missed my chances.

“He took them and that’s what he used to do. I’m happy for him that he got over the line; he’s winning and working hard and I’ve been in the same boat.

“It’s nice to see him back a little bit, and hopefully I can keep improving for the future.”

Interwetten German Darts Championship


Sunday March 13

Afternoon Session

Last 16

Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Martin Lukeman

Peter Wright 6-4 Krzysztof Ratajski

Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-1 Ryan Searle

Michael Smith 6-1 Dave Chisnall

Daryl Gurney 6-3 Joe Cullen

Jonny Clayton 6-4 Mensur Suljovic

Rob Cross 6-3 Dirk van Duijvenbode

Karel Sedlacek 6-4 Jose de Sousa

Evening Session


Michael van Gerwen Bye (Peter Wright withdrew due to back injury)

Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-3 Michael Smith

Daryl Gurney 6-5 Jonny Clayton

Rob Cross 6-4 Karel Sedlacek


Michael van Gerwen 7-6 Dimitri Van den Bergh

Rob Cross 7-4 Daryl Gurney


Michael van Gerwen 8-5 Rob Cross