2022 PDC Premier League in brand new revamped look with every match counting in a knockout style format. 

In 2022, the Cazoo Premier League will undergo the most dramatic change in its history, with eight players competing in 16 mini-events throughout the season before the Play-Offs to determine a champion.

Since its inception in 2005, the Premier League has undergone a number of format changes, starting with seven players and progressing to eight and ten participants, as well as Challengers in subsequent years.

The Premier League, which has established itself as the circuit’s most comprehensive tournament, will continue to be held in 17 arenas across the United Kingdom, Ireland, the Netherlands, and Germany this year, with a big, enhanced £1 million prize fund.

However, in 2022, the Premier League will feature eight players, with the 16 league nights being individual events consisting of quarter-finals, semi-finals, and a final played over the best of 11 legs, with each night’s winner receiving a £10,000 bonus.

Each night, five ranking points will be granted to the winner, three to the runner-up, and two to the semi-finalists, forming a league table from which the top four players will advance to the Play-Offs.

Players will face each other twice in a quarter-final tie to set the draw for 14 nights, with the stars facing off again in a draw bracket based on the league table following Night Seven and Night 15 respectively.

2022 PDC Premier League in brand new revamped look 
2022 PDC Premier League in brand new revamped look  (PDC)

“The Cazoo Premier League has grown beyond recognition since first being introduced 17 years ago, but the time was right to introduce this ground-breaking new format,” said PDC Chief Executive Matt Porter.

“Our new format means that every match matters. Every night throughout the season has its own champion and will provide even greater value for fans attending and watching around the world, with seven games playing through to a conclusion to find a winner in each venue.

“There is also the wider race to be involved in the Play-Offs and to challenge for the overall Premier League title and a share of the massive £1 million prize money.

“We’ve already seen great interest across the UK and Europe from fans looking forward to attending the Cazoo Premier League live once again, and this year they’ll be experiencing more top-class darts than ever before in this event.”



Each night will see quarter-finals, semi-finals and a final played over the best of 11 legs (first to six).

Each player will meet the other seven players twice over the course of the season in a quarter-final game, plus two further nights will feature additional fixtures in the same format.


League Points

Night Winner – 5 points + £10,000 bonus

Runner-Up – 3 points

Semi-Finalists – 2 points