Betfred World Matchplay debutant Luke Littler will take on Michael van Gerwen in a mouthwatering round one tie.

The draw for the 2024 edition of the event, to be held between 13-21 July at the iconic Empress Ballroom at the Winter Gardens in Blackpool, sees the Premier League champion and current favourite for the tournament Littler face off against three time Matchplay champion van Gerwen.

Luke Littler on stage at the 2024 Premier League Darts
Luke Littler begins his first trip to the Betfred World Matchplay against three time champion Michael van Gerwen. Credit: PDC

Defending champion Nathan Aspinall will play Luke Woodhouse. The Asp v Woody is expected to be part of the opening night, as tradition dictates last year’s winner headlines the first evening in Blackpool. Aspinall is in the same quarter as 2022 runner up Gerwyn Price, who plays Daryl Gurney in another round one blockbuster.

Nathan Aspinall celebrates winning the 2023 Betfred World Matchplay.
Nathan Aspinall will start the defence of the Betfred World Matchplay in Blackpool against Luke Woodhouse. Credit: PDC

Elsewhere, other stand out ties include:

  • World champion and world number one Luke Humphries against Ricardo Pietreczko
  • 2019 runner up Michael Smith face off against former mentor and 2018 winner Gary Anderson

2024 Betfred World Matchplay Draw

Section One

(1) Luke Humphries v Ricardo Pietreczko

(16) Stephen Bunting v Ryan Joyce

(8) Jonny Clayton v Raymond van Barneveld

(9) Dimitri Van den Bergh v Martin Schindler

Section Two

(4) Gerwyn Price v Daryl Gurney

(13) Ross Smith v Josh Rock

(5) Nathan Aspinall v Luke Woodhouse

(12) Danny Noppert v James Wade

Section Three

(2) Michael van Gerwen v Luke Littler

(15) Joe Cullen v Brendan Dolan

(7) Dave Chisnall v Krzysztof Ratajski

(10) Peter Wright v Andrew Gilding

Section Four

(3) Michael Smith v Gary Anderson

(14) Chris Dobey v Richie Edhouse

(6) Rob Cross v Gian van Veen

(11) Damon Heta v Ryan Searle

How does the draw work?

The draw for the 2024 Betfred World Matchplay sees the top 16 players on the PDC Order of Merit qualify automatically. They make up the 16 seeds for the event.

The top 16 players on the Pro Tour Order of Merit, who are not already on the main Order of Merit, also qualify for round one. They are unseeded, meaning they can play any seed in the first round.

Whoever wins their round one game moves onto round two, where 16 players remain. If all the seeds qualify, then it would be 1 v 16, 2 v 15, and so on. If a non-seeded player beats a seeded player in round one, they effectively take their seed for the remainder of the draw.

After this, two players will remain in each section of the draw. They will play each other in the quarter finals.

The semi finals will be the winner of section one v winner of section two. The winners of sections three and four will play in the other semi final.

The two semi final winners will play in the final, with the victor being crowned the 2024 Betfred World Matchplay Champion.

2024 Betfred World Matchplay Schedule

Saturday 13 July (19.00 BST)

First round x4

Sunday 14 July (13.00 BST)

First round x4

Sunday 14 July (19.30 BST)

First round x4

Monday 15 July (19.00 BST)

First round x4

Tuesday 16 July (19.00 BST)

Second round x4

Wednesday 17 July (19.00 BST)

Second round x4

Thursday 18 July (20.00 BST)

Quarter finals x2

Friday 19 July (20.00 BST)

Quarter finals x2

Saturday 20 July (20.00 BST)

Semi finals x2

Sunday 21 July (13.00 BST)

Women’s World Matchplay – Quarter finals, Semi finals and Final

Sunday 21 July (21.00 BST)



Round One – First to 10 legs

Round Two – First to 11 legs

Quarter Finals – First to 16 legs

Semi Finals – First to 17 legs

Final – First to 18 legs

All games must be won by two clear legs. A game can be extended if necessary for a maximum of six extra legs before a tie break leg is needed.

For example, in a first to 10 legs first round match, if the score reaches 12–12 then the 25th leg will be the deciding one.

Prize Money

There is £800,000 in prize money for the 2024 Betfred World Matchplay. It’s broken down like this:

Winner – £200,000

Runner Up – £100,000

Semi Finals – £50,000

Quarter Finals – £30,000

Second Round – £15,000

First Round – £10,000