PDC European Championships

The PDC European Championships is the climax of the PDC Euro tour, run by PDC Europe. The players hold this tournament in high regard, and has springboarded players into the business end of the year with good performances in it.


The European Championships is a PDC darts tournament that has been running annually since 2008. It takes place across various months every year and allows the top European darts players in the world to take on the top ranked players in the PDC Order of Merit at the time of the tournament. 

Initially held at the Südbahnhof in Frankfurt, Germany, the tournament has since taken place at a number of different venues across Europe in Germany and Belgium. The next edition of the European Championships is set to take place at the Westfalenhallen in Dortmund, which was also the host of the 2018 tournament. 

PDC European Championship
PDC European Championship


To qualify for the PDC European Championships, players will need to get themselves in the top 32 of the European Tour Order of Merit, which is based solely on prize money won from the 13 European Tour events from the season. The top 32 earners are then selected to compete in the event. There is a straight knockout format for the European Championships, with the draw being a fixed bracket process that sees the 1st seed play the 32nd seed, the 2nd seed play the 31st seed and so on.


There is a total of five rounds in the European Championships, with each round featuring a greater number of legs needed to win the match. The number of legs needed to win in each round goes as follows:


  • First Round – Best of 11 Legs
  • Second Round – Best of 19 Legs
  • Quarter-Finals – Best of 19 Legs
  • Semi-Finals – Best of 21 Legs
  • Final – Best of 21 Legs

Player Performances

As many would expect, it is Phil Taylor and Michael van Gerwen that have dominated this tournament, with both players winning four European Championship titles in their respective careers. Both players also have a perfect record in European Championship Finals, winning four of four appearances in the match. No other players have won the event more than once, with Adrian Lewis, Simon Whitlock, Rob Cross and James Wade the other four players’ names on the trophy.

Lewis, van Gerwen and Kyle Anderson are the three players to have hit nine-darters at the European Championships, while Taylor has clocked the top three averages in the history of the competition. Taylor has averaged 118.14, 113.92 and 113.33 in three individual matches at the European Championships. 

Rob Cross PDC European Championship Winner 2019
Rob Cross PDC European Championship Winner 2019

Tournament Winners

2019 Rob Cross 11 V 6 Gerwyn Price 

2018 James Wade 11 V 8 Simon Whitlock 

2017 Michael van Gerwen 11 V 7 Rob Cross

2016 Michael van Gerwen 11 V 1 Mensur Suljovic 

2015 Michael van Gerwen 11 V 10 Gary Anderson

2014 Michael van Gerwen 11 V 4 Terry Jenkins 

2013 Adrian Lewis 11 V 6 Simon Whitlock

2012 Simon Whitlock 11 V 5 Wes Newton

2011 Phil Taylor 11 V 8 Adrian Lewis

2010 Phil Taylor 11 V 1 Wayne Jones

2009 Phil Taylor 11 V 3 Steve Beaton

2008 Phil Taylor 11 V 5 Adrian Lewis