Humphries edges out Littler on a thrilling day of action at the European Darts Grand Prix.

Luke Humphries won again against Luke Littler on an action-packed day at the European Darts Grand Prix, while Damon Heta delivered one of the best performances in European Tour history in Sindelfingen.

Humphries and Littler’s newest clash took centre stage on Day Two at the Glaspalast, with Humphries emerging triumphant after an 11-leg epic.

Littler had won the pair’s last six matches since the World Championship final in January, but Humphries stopped that streak with a stunning 11-dart break in the final leg.

“That record wasn’t something that was playing on my mind,” insisted Humphries, who averaged 101 and crashed in five 180s to complete a comeback from 5-4 down.

“Luke is a fantastic player and in elite level sport, these runs of results can happen, but of course I’m relieved that run is over!”

Saturday’s second round action featured 16 matches spread across two sessions, and Heta stole the show with an enthralling performance, registering the third-highest average in European Tour history.

The Australian number one averaged 117.48 to overcome Mickey Mansell 6-2, including four 11-darters to drop the Northern Irishman, who averaged 104.

Gary Anderson and Gerwyn Price also reached new heights during a blockbuster evening session, averaging 110 in victories over Christian Perez and Brendan Dolan, respectively.

Anderson was imperious on his return to European Tour play, and he will face Price again in Sunday’s last 16, after the Welshman defeated Dolan in a seven-leg blitz.

Humphries edges out Littler on a thrilling day of action at the European Darts Grand Prix 
Humphries edges out Littler on a thrilling day of action at the European Darts Grand Prix (PDC Europe)

In other news, incumbent champion Rob Cross defeated Martin Schindler, who averaged 106, in a last-leg classic, surviving two match darts to destroy Schindler’s chances of winning back-to-back European Tour titles.

Gabriel Clemens is the final German participant in Sindelfingen, defeating compatriot Ricardo Pietreczko to face top seed Dave Chisnall.

Michael van Gerwen opened his pursuit for a third European Darts Grand Prix title with a commanding 6-1 victory over Sweden’s Johan Engstrom, aided by a ton-topping average and finishes of 103, 112, and 114.

Michael Smith fended off a spirited fightback from birthday boy Raymond van Barneveld to victory in a duel of the former World Champions, finishing things up with a 14-dart hold in the final leg.

Earlier in the day, Stephen Bunting finished with a superb tops-tops 100 to celebrate a thrilling 6-5 victory over Ryan Searle, fighting from 5-3 down to win his 15th successive European Tour last-leg showdown.

Jonny Clayton and Danny Noppert both won deciding legs on Saturday afternoon, knocking out Chris Dobey and Daryl Gurney in the process.

Clayton converted 106, 118, 121, and 127 checkouts before surviving four match darts to win in a last-leg shoot-out, as Noppert hit a 13-dart break to deny Gurney with a 103.89 average.

Chisnall won 6-3 against Keane Barry, while Scott Williams converted six of his nine doubles attempts to prolong Krzysztof Ratajski’s European Tour winless streak.

Josh Rock won 6-2 over Jeffrey Sparidaans with a brace of 170 checkouts, while Ross Smith defeated Luke Woodhouse by the same scoreline.

Smith will face Ritchie Edhouse in the last 16, after beating James Wade in the first round and defeating fifth seed Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-1.

The third round will be played on Sunday afternoon in Sindelfingen, followed by the quarter-finals, semi-finals, and final in the evening.

Humphries edges out Littler on a thrilling day of action at the European Darts Grand Prix 
Humphries edges out Littler on a thrilling day of action at the European Darts Grand Prix 


Saturday April 20

Second Round

Afternoon Session

Scott Williams 6-4 Krzysztof Ratajski

Ross Smith 6-2 Luke Woodhouse

Stephen Bunting 6-5 Ryan Searle

Ritchie Edhouse 6-1 Dirk van Duijvenbode

Danny Noppert 6-5 Daryl Gurney

Jonny Clayton 6-5 Chris Dobey

Dave Chisnall 6-3 Keane Barry

Josh Rock 6-2 Jeffrey Sparidaans

Evening Session

Gary Anderson 6-3 Christian Perez

Gerwyn Price 6-1 Brendan Dolan

Michael Smith 6-5 Raymond van Barneveld

Damon Heta 6-2 Mickey Mansell

Rob Cross 6-5 Martin Schindler

Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Johan Engstrom

Luke Humphries 6-5 Luke Littler

Gabriel Clemens 6-2 Ricardo Pietreczko