Devon Petersen won his first PDC title on the final day of the Euro Tour event in Hildesheim.

Petersen became the first African player to win in the PDC by beating Jonny Clayton 8-3 in the final.

It rounded off an amazing weekend for the African Warrior, and ensured Adrian Lewis qualified for the World Grand Prix.

Elsewhere on the final day of the Euro Tour:

  • Mervyn King and Danny Noppert made semi final runs
  • Michael van Gerwen and Peter Wright went out in the last 16
  • The World Grand Prix places were confirmed
Devon Petersen won his first ever PDC title with victory over Jonny Clayton on the final day of the Euro Tour. Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Perfect Petersen wins maiden title

After ending Gerwyn Price’s winning streak yesterday, Petersen was looking to finally get his first PDC title under his belt today in Hildesheim.

He started off his day with an absolute classic against Rob Cross in the third round. It was back and forth contest, and Petersen trailed 3-2 at one point. However, he managed to recover and win the game with a 14 dart hold of throw to take a 6-5 victory.

That saw the African Warrior into the evening session and quarter final meeting with Krzysztof Ratajski. Ratajski had hit a 108 average against Joe Cullen in his afternoon win, but could not live with Petersen’s double hitting. Petersen won the game 6-3, going 6/11 on the outer ring.

A comfortable 7-4 win against Danny Noppert saw the South African into the final against Clayton, where he took charge from the start, breaking the throw in the first leg to go 1-0 up. He then won four of the next five legs to take a 5-1 lead, averaging nearly 105 in the process. Despite Clayton making the game 6-3, Petersen held his nerve. He hit double 16 to go 7-3 up, and punished three missed darts at a double from The Ferret to hit double 18 and secure his elusive first title.

The win for Petersen also all but secures his place at the European Championship in Dortmund next month, and puts him in the 2020 Grand Slam of Darts.

Fantastic Ferret just falls short

Jonny Clayton had secured his place at the World Grand Prix yesterday, by beating Chris Dobey. Today, he was looking to win his second Euro Tour title and fell one game short of doing so.

The Ferret started the day by claiming a 6-3 victory over the World Champion Peter Wright. Clayton was brutal on the doubles, going 6/11 as Snakebite had no answer.

That set up a quarter final against Dave Chisnall, and the pair served up a Euro Tour classic. With both players averaging over 100, it was only fitting that the game went to a last leg decider. Clayton had the throw, and held it in 15 darts, pinging double five to win 6-5 and bring a magical contest to an end.

It was a much more straightforward win against Mervyn King in the semi final, as he won 7-3 to move into the final. However, Clayton could not live with Petersen’s scoring, and missed key chances to try and stay in the contest.

Adrian Lewis will be thanking The Ferret that he lost though. Had he won, Clayton would have overtaken Jackpot and moved into the top 16 in the world, knocking Lewis out of the World Grand Prix. However, with the loss, it means Clayton will qualify via the Pro Tour Order of Merit, meaning it’s Jeffrey De Zwaan who misses out.

It was not to be for Jonny Clayton as he missed out on his second Euro Tour title. Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

What else happened?

Mervyn King made the semi finals on the final day of the Euro Tour event in Germany. He thrashed Michael van Gerwen 6-1, then beat James Wade 6-2 in the quarter finals before falling to Clayton.

For Danny Noppert, his journey ended in the semi finals to Petersen. Before then, he knocked out Max Hopp 6-4 in the third round, meaning Kim Huybrechts took the final World Grand Prix qualification spot. Noppert then beat defending champion Daryl Gurney 6-2 in the last eight, before Petersen knocked him out in the last four.

View the:

  • PDC Order of Merit. The top 16 players will qualify for the World Grand Prix, with the top eight seeded.
  • PDC Pro Tour of Merit. The top 16 players who aren’t already in the top 16 on the normal order of merit will qualify

Day Three Results


Devon Petersen 8-3 Jonny Clayton

Semi Finals

Jonny Clayton 7-3 Mervyn King

Devon Petersen 7-4 Danny Noppert

Quarter Finals

Mervyn King 6-2 James Wade

Jonny Clayton 6-5 Dave Chisnall

Danny Noppert 6-2 Daryl Gurney

Devon Petersen 6-3 Krzysztof Ratajski

Third Round

Mervyn King 6-1 Michael van Gerwen

James Wade 6-1 Mensur Suljovic

Jonny Clayton 6-3 Peter Wright

Dave Chisnall 6-3 Nathan Aspinall

Danny Noppert 6-4 Max Hopp

Daryl Gurney 6-4 Glen Durrant

Devon Petersen 6-5 Rob Cross

Krzysztof Ratajski 6-2 Joe Cullen