World Senior Darts Championships 2022 Preview

Darts returns to the iconic Circus Tavern in Purfleet this evening as the World Seniors Darts Championships sponsored by gets underway.


Twenty-two men and two ladies will be in action across the four days of competition as they battle for the right to be the inaugural World Seniors Champion.

The Favourite

Sixteen times World Champion Phil Taylor is the bookies favourite to claim the title and with good reason.

World Seniors Darts Championship

He, of course, has fond memories of the venue, claiming eleven of his world titles there. The last of those eleven titles came after a 7-0 demolition of Peter Manley in 2006 and the pair could meet on Friday evening when Taylor kicks off his campaign, providing Manley gets past his first round opponent Deta Hedman first.

In The Frame

Martin ‘Wolfie’ Adams goes into the tournament as the number two seed and with the advantage of some recent competitive action under his belt in the Online Darts Live League, will fancy his chances of doing well. He will face the winner of another BDO favourite Daryl Fitton and qualifier Richie Howson on Friday evening.

Hat-Trick Form Adams

Scotsman Robert Thornton, a former UK Open and Grand Prix champion, is another who has played competitively in recent months, including his recent attempt at Q-School along with the first weekend of the PDC Challenge Tour. He starts his assault on the title this evening as he plays ‘The Rhinestone Cowboy’ Bob Anderson.

Perhaps the pick of the first round action on Thursday evening sees Tony O’Shea face ‘The Artist’ Kevin Painter. Both are popular with the fans and would relish the opportunity to pit their wits against former BDO World Champion Wayne Warren in round two.

World Seniors Darts Championship Order of Play

Thursday February 3
Evening Session (1900 GMT)
First Round (Best of 5 sets)
Robert Thornton v Bob Anderson
Peter Manley v Deta Hedman
Tony O’Shea v Kevin Painter
Darryl Fitton v Richie Howson

Friday February 4
Afternoon Session (1300 GMT)
First Round (Best of 5 sets)
Les Wallace v John Walton
Paul Lim v Dave Prins
Alan Warriner-Little v Larry Butler
Terry Jenkins v Roland Scholten

Evening Session (1900 GMT)
Second Round (Best of 5 sets)
Wayne Warren v Tony O’Shea/Kevin Painter
Martin Adams v Darryl Fitton/Richie Howson
Phil Taylor v Peter Manley/Deta Hedman
Trina Gulliver v Robert Thornton/Bob Anderson

Saturday February 5
Afternoon session (1300 GMT)
Second Round (Best of 5 sets)
John Part v Les Wallace/John Walton
John Lowe v Paul Lim/Dave Prins
Keith Deller v Alan Warriner-Little/Larry Butler
Lisa Ashton v Terry Jenkins/Roland Scholten

Evening Session (1900 GMT)
Quarter-Finals (Best of 5 sets)
Part/Wallace/Walton v Ashton/Jenkins/Scholten
Gulliver/Thornton/Anderson v Lowe/Lim/Dave Prins
Taylor/Manley/Hedman v Warren/O’Shea/Painter
Deller/Warriner-Little/Butler v Adams/Fitton/Howson

Sunday February 6
Afternoon session (1300 GMT)
Semi-Finals (Best of 7 sets)

Evening Session (1900 GMT)
Final (Best of 7 sets)