The final day of the Euro Tour event in Germany saw Jose de Sousa win his first ever Euro Tour title.

The Portuguese player beat Gerwyn Price en route to his first ever Euro Tour final. He then outclassed world number one Michael van Gerwen in the final to win the European Darts Grand Prix.

De Sousa moves to provisional number three seed for the European Championship. In addition, he joins Devon Petersen in winning his maiden title on the Euro Tour in 2020.

Jose De Sousa won his maiden Euro Tour on the final day in Sindelfingen. Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

De Sousa does it in style

A tough road to the Portuguese Manoscores’  first title started with a game against Gerwyn Price. De Sousa punished The Iceman’s inability to hit doubles, winning 6-3 and advancing to a quarter final. Price would finish 3/15 on the outer ring.

The evening session on the final day of the Euro Tour event started with a game against Darius Labanauskas. The Lithuanian produced tough competition, but was ultimately broken in the last leg of the game as De Sousa won 6-4.

That set up a semi final against Ian “Diamond” White, and it was a classic. After De Sousa broke for 2-1, White found a break straight back for 2-2. Both each held throw to get the match and send it to 6-6, before De Sousa found a stunning 11 dart break to win 7-6 and move into his first ever final.

There, he would meet Michael van Gerwen, who was in first Euro Tour final of the year after beating:

  • Vincent van der Voort in a scrappy last 16 affair 6-5
  • Nathan Aspinall 6-5 in an epic quarter final
  • Mensur Suljovic 7-1 with a superb show on the doubles

MvG started brighter, punishing missed darts at a double from de Sousa to find a 84 shot and break for 1-0. The man from Portugal would break straight back, finding an 84 shot of his own on the bull to level.

Both held their throw for 2-2, before De Sousa took control. After holding for 3-2, he continued to outscore the Green Machine, finding an 11 dart break on double 18 to go 4-2 up.

Both players held twice more, meaning the score was 6-4, when de Sousa hit the killer shot of the match. Van Gerwen had left 132, thanks to a brilliant 171. However, he would not get a poke at it, as De Sousa found a magnificent 146 to win the leg and go within one of the title.

The Portuguese player would end the contest brilliantly too. After another stunning scoring, he hit a two double finish on 14s and 18s respectively, to checkout 88 and win 8-4 to take home the European Darts Grand Prix trophy.

Michael van Gerwen almost won his first Euro Tour title of the year, but was beaten by Jose De Sousa in the final.

Day Three Results


Jose de Sousa v Michael van Gerwen

Semi Final

Jose de Sousa 7-6 Ian White

Michael van Gerwen 7-1 Mensur Suljovic

Quarter Final

Ian White 6-4 Maik Kuivenhoven

Jose de Sousa 6-4 Darius Labanauskas

Mensur Suljovic 6-0 Rob Cross

Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Nathan Aspinall

Last 16

Maik Kuivenhoven 6-3 Glen Durrant

Ian White 6-2 Michael Smith

Darius Labanauskas 6-2 Joe Cullen

Jose de Sousa 6-3 Gerwyn Price

Mensur Suljovic 6-5 Jamie Hughes

Rob Cross 6-1 Martijn Kleermaker

Nathan Aspinall 6-2 James Wade

Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Vincent van der Voort