Michael van Gerwen got back to winning ways on day two of the Euro Tour event in Germany.

The world number one breezed past Mervyn King 6-1 to move into the third round of the European Darts Grand Prix in Sindelfingen. King beat MvG in the last Euro Tour event by the same scoreline.

Gerwyn Price also got revenge on Devon Petersen for defeating him at the last event as well. The BoyleSports World Grand Prix winner came through 6-2 to move into the last 16.

Elsewhere, day two of the Euro Tour event saw:

  • Rob Cross and Adam Hunt play the game of the day
  • Michael Smith, Jose de Sousa Mensur Suljovic produce stunning performances to storm through to round three
  • three seeds fall in Daryl Gurney, Krzysztof Ratajski and Dave Chisnall
Michael van Gerwen eased into round three on day two of the Euro Tour event.

Top two seeds stroll into round three

Both van Gerwen and Price were facing players that had beat them in the previous Euro Tour event. However, history would not be repeated in Sindelfingen.

Van Gerwen started the game brightly, getting a break of throw in the first and third leg, and holding throw twice to lead 4-0. King would find double top to hold throw, but would only delay the inevitable. MvG would hold throw, before King missed bull for an 82 checkout in the next leg. Van Gerwen then hit double ten to win the match 6-1, averaging 95 in the process.

The number two seed Price also joined him, coming through against the African Warrior. Both players broke each other’s throw in the first two legs, before The Iceman found double 12 to break again and lead 2-1.

This fired up the new world number two, reeling off three legs in 43 darts to move ahead 5-1 and in control of the match. Despite Petersen hitting 72 to hold throw, Price found double ten to hold his throw and win the match 6-2.

Gerwyn Price will be aiming for his second Euro Tour title of the season tomorrow. Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Cross, Suljovic, Smith and De Sousa all through

Rob Cross and Adam Hunt played the game of day two of the Euro Tour event.

Hunt broke in the first leg, before Cross responded with a break of his own to level 1-1. Voltage reeled off two straight legs, before The Hunter found a brilliant 114 checkout to get the game back on throw at 3-2.

Cross would once again win two straight legs to lead 5-2, before missed match darts allowed Hunt to win three straight legs and take the match to a last leg decider. There, the former World ChampionΒ would eventually find double one to win 6-5 and end a classic Euro Tour contest.

It was much more plain sailing for Mensur Suljovic against David Evans. With the score level at 2-2, the Austrian won four of the last five legs in 55 darts to win 6-3. He averaged 105.4 in the contest, the highest of day two.

Michael Smith and Jose De Sousa are also into the last 16, whitewashing their opponents. Smith hit a 103.7 average in his 6-0 victory over Derk Telenkes, while De Sousa came through against qualifier Ricardo Pietreczko by the same scoreline.

What else happened?

Daryl Gurney was the first seed to fall on day two of the Euro Tour event in the first match of the day. Superchin looked comfortable in patches, but could not put together a good enough run during the game, losing 6-5 to Dutchman Maik Kuivenhoven.

Krzysztof Ratajski and Dave Chisnall were the other two seeds to fall on day two. Ratajski lost 6-2 to the Dutchman Martijn Kleermaker, while Chisnall fell to Darius Labanauskas 6-3. That improves both Kleermaker and Labanauskas’ chances of qualifying for the European Championship at the end of the month.

James Wade and Vincent van der Voort came through tough tests against the top two German players. The Machine beat Gabriel Clemens 6-4, while the Dutch Destroyer won by the same scoreline against Max Hopp. Glen Durrant also beat rising young German star Nico Kurz 6-3.

Ian White picked up his first win on the Euro Tour this year, as he beat Scott Waites 6-2. Joe Cullen beat Kim Huybrechts 6-3, while Jamie Hughes came through a last leg decider 6-5 against Steve Lennon. Nathan Aspinall cruised through to round three, beating William O’Connor 6-1.

Day Two Results

Second Round

Maik Kuivenhoven 6-5 Daryl Gurney

Ian White 6-2 Scott Waites

Michael Smith 6-0 Derk Telnekes

Glen Durrant 6-3 Nico Kurz

Jose De Sousa 6-0 Ricardo Pietreczko

Darius Labanauskas 6-3 Dave Chisnall

Joe Cullen 6-3 Kim Huybrechts

Jamie Hughes 6-5 Steve Lennon

Martijn Kleermaker 6-2 Krzysztof Ratajski

Rob Cross 6-5 Adam Hunt

James Wade 6-4 Gabriel Clemens

Gerwyn Price 6-2 Devon Petersen

Mensur Suljovic 6-3 David Evans

Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Mervyn King

Nathan Aspinall 6-1 William O’Connor

Vincent van der Voort 6-4 Max Hopp

Day Three Schedule of Play

Third Round (13.00 local time, 12.00 GMT)

Maik Kuivenhoven v Glen Durrant

Ian White v Michael Smith

Darius Labanauskas v Joe Cullen

Gerwyn Price v Jose De Sousa

Mensur Suljovic v Jamie Hughes

Martijn Kleermaker v Rob Cross

James Wade v Nathan Aspinall

Michael van Gerwen v Vincent van der Voort

Evening Session (19.00 local time, 18.00 BST)