Back to the familiar best of 11 for the start of this weekend. The PDC bandwagon makes its second Minehead visit of the season.

With one final chance to make the World Championship, some players need big runs this weekend. For others there will be the inevitable confirmation that their Tour Card is gone.

We look at three big games from each stage.

Main Stage

Gian van Veen v Ross Smith

Gian van Veen is here courtesy of Peter Wright’s withdrawal. His surprise run to a tour final giving him this unexpected opportunity and ensuring the likes of De Zwaan are headed back to Q School. He does have the look of someone heading into or out of dartitis but his methods are working and he has seen success in Modus events too. Smith will have been disappointed to not follow up his maiden TV win with a stronger performance at the Grand Slam. He will look to rectify this here but expect this one to go deep.



PDC Super Series


Danny Noppert v Simon Whitlock

Both players will have no idea how they lost in the last 16 last week. Noppert seemingly in total control up to the point Price found a scarcely believable burst. Whitlock meanwhile out averaged Raymond van Barneveld throughout their clash and found a way to lose. This is a real tough one to call, Noppert has been far the more consistent this year but Whitlock has found form at the right time. 11 legs anyone?



Kim Huybrechts v Raymond van Barneveld

Having threatened a summer resurgence, this is our first sighting of Kim Huybrechts during silly season. Raymond meanwhile will be looking to continue his sudden resurgence, having been steady and unspectacular, he remarkable run in Wolverhampton has him knocking on the door of the top 32 once more and a pathway to more events. Kim really needs something to take into the World Championship but he will struggle to get it here. This game is running into the danger zone of running into the football if things don’t run to time, there is every chance it could change the feel of the venue.


World Series of Darts Finals

Stage 2

Scott Williams v Alan Soutar

This should be an excellent clash. Both players assured a World Championship slot with Williams slamming in a 107 average to close his Grand Slam. Soutar enjoyed an amazing run the quarter final at the Slam and will look to maintain his recent momentum. With Williams secure in a tour card for next year he is free wheeling and playing under no pressure, just picking up as much cash as he can. Soutar does an amazing job of jugging all his roles and responsibilities with darts. Should be a belter.

Adrian Lewis v Keane Barry

Adrian has just been edged of of the seeds for the World’s so he will be looking to steal that back this weekend. Keane has had a quiet year on the main tour but has remained a serial winner on the development tour. He is secure in a another visit to Ally Pally and is just looking to build confidence. A seeding protects Ady for two rounds but also ensures a 3rd round game with Gerwyn Price. I’m not sure if I would want the seed or to take my chances in the open draw.



Jose de Sousa v Danny Jansen

Just as you think Jose is getting back to his best, he seems to throw in a stinker of a performance as he did at the European’s. The mullet bearing Dutchman Jansen has had a big impact on tour this season with some impressive Euro Tour Performances. Jose’s 18th place on the Pro Tour is his lowest in some time and he will be looking to build form for the World’s. Jansen will look to cause another shock and with Stage 2 likely to carry a slightly less fervent atmosphere, he could spring a surprise.


Jose de Sousa


2022 Cazoo Players Championship Finals
Schedule of Play
Friday November 25 (1030-1830 GMT)
First Round

Main Stage
Rob Cross v Kevin Doets
Joe Cullen v Rowby-John Rodriguez
Damon Heta v Ricardo Pietreczko
James Wade v Mensur Suljovic
Josh Rock v Cameron Menzies
Gian van Veen v Ross Smith
Nathan Aspinall v Martijn Kleermaker
Dimitri Van den Bergh v Martin Lukeman
Danny Noppert v Simon Whitlock
Michael Smith v Ritchie Edhouse
Gerwyn Price v Ryan Joyce
Kim Huybrechts v Raymond van Barneveld
Michael van Gerwen v Ryan Meikle
Luke Humphries v Nathan Rafferty

Stage Two
Andrew Gilding v Ricky Evans
Callan Rydz v Madars Razma
Daryl Gurney v Keegan Brown
Scott Williams v Alan Soutar
Brendan Dolan v Jermaine Wattimena
Jim Williams v Mike De Decker
Krzysztof Ratajski v William O’Connor
Adrian Lewis v Keane Barry
Jose de Sousa v Danny Jansen
Dirk van Duijvenbode v Mickey Mansell
Ryan Searle v Mervyn King
Stephen Bunting v Jamie Hughes
Chris Dobey v Geert Nentjes
Martin Schindler v Vincent van der Voort
Jonny Clayton v John O’Shea
Matt Campbell v Steve Beaton
Gabriel Clemens v Gary Anderson
Dave Chisnall v Niels Zonneveld