Cullen to make Premier League Debut 

Joe Cullen will compete in the Cazoo Premier League for the first time in 2022, as the eight-player line-up announced for this year’s revamped event.

Cullen’s selection comes less than 24 hours after winning his first TV title at The Masters, while world number one Gerwyn Price and World Championship runner-up Michael Smith return after missing the 2021 season.

Price, World Champion Peter Wright, and five-time Premier League winner Michael van Gerwen, as well as reigning champion Jonny Clayton, are among the top three box office stars in the world.

Former Premier League champions James Wade and Gary Anderson round out a star-studded starting lineup for the new season, which kicks off on Thursday in Cardiff.

The contestants were announced alongside the revelation that the Cazoo Premier League in 2022 will be the first event to incorporate the Winmau Blade 6 dartboard, as part of a new agreement announced on Monday.

Cullen to make Premier League Debut 
Cullen to make Premier League Debut  (Taka Wu/PDC)

2022 Cazoo Premier League competitors

Gerwyn Price

Peter Wright

Michael van Gerwen

James Wade

Michael Smith

Gary Anderson

Jonny Clayton

Joe Cullen


The 2022 Cazoo Premier League will return to being played in arenas across the UK, Ireland, Netherlands and Germany with a bumper £1 million prize fund on offer.

The eight players will contest 16 mini-events during the season ahead of the Play-Offs, where the eventual champion will be crowned.


 2022 Cazoo Premier League Schedule


Thursday February 3 – Motorpoint Arena, Cardiff

Thursday February 10 – M&S Bank Arena, Liverpool

Thursday February 17 – SSE Arena, Belfast

Thursday February 24 – Mercedes-Benz Arena, Berlin

Thursday March 3 – Westpoint Exeter

Thursday March 10 – The Brighton Centre

Thursday March 17 – Motorpoint Arena, Nottingham

Thursday March 24 – Rotterdam Ahoy

Thursday March 31 – Utilita Arena Birmingham

Thursday April 7 – First Direct Arena, Leeds

Thursday April 14 – AO Arena, Manchester

Thursday April 21 – P&J Live, Aberdeen

Thursday April 28 – 3Arena, Dublin

Thursday May 5 – OVO Arena, Glasgow

Thursday May 12 – Utilita Arena, Sheffield

Thursday May 19 – The O2, London

Thursday May 26 – Utilita Arena Newcastle