Owen and Plaisier take titles on Challenge Tour

Robert Owen and Wesley Plaisier both picked up Challenge Tour titles in Leicester today.

The penultimate weekend of action on the PDC secondary system is edging towards it’s conclusion, with valuable World Championship spots and tour cards on offer!

Today was saw two of five events to be played this weekend at the Morningside Arena.

Owen starts with a Bang

Welshman Robert Owen won the first event of the day. Stack Attack, a former UK Open Semi-finalist has enjoyed a great year without a tour card.

His quest to regain that tour card is looking good following todays win, as he now sits second on the Challenge Tour order of merit, £1,450 behind Scott Williams.

The day started with a 5-1 victory over Joshua Sinkovits, before back to back 5-3 wins over Scottish opponents, Robert Nelson and Neil MacDougall.

Colin Osborne was next, who like Owen, has been a consistent figure in the Modus Super Series (Formerly Online Darts Live League). Another 5-3 score line.

In the last-16 fellow Welshman Shane Hayward was beaten 5-2. That was followed up with a win over another Super Series regular Matt Dennant. 5-1 the score in that one.

Owen dropped below the 90 average just once in CT 16. That was against Robert Nelson in round two. The majority of the day was spent around the 95 mark, which he produced once again to beat Robert Thornton. The Seniors World Champion forcing StackAttack to a deciding leg for the first time of the day.

In the final, former World Champion Christian Kist stood in the way of the title. However the Dutchman was despatched 5-2 to seal the win and the £2,000 prize money.

Plaisier stops Thornton for first title of the year

Dutchman Wesley Plaiser earned his Challenge Tour title of 2022, beating Robert Thornton in the final.

The Scot was beaten by the eventual winner in both events today, as he attempts a late assault on the Challenge Tour rankings. But he will have to reset ahead of three more events this weekend.

Plaisier’s run to the final started with wins over Rene Eidams and David Wawrzewski before a ton topping 103 average saw off Geoffrey Murray.

Christian, much like Thornton, was also beaten by the eventual winner twice today. He lost out in the last 32 to Plaisier 5-3.

Two more ton plus averages followed in wins over Marshall Raymond (100.96) and Lewis Pride (101.75). Both of those by the same score line, 5-3.

The run was closed out with a win over Martijn Dragt 5-2 in the semi-final, before that showdown with Thornton saw the Dutchman pocket his own £2,000.

Special mention for Lukas Wenig, who hit a 9 dart leg to beat Andrew Hyland in the last 32!

CT16 Results

Last 16
Matthew Dennant 5 | 2 Fabian Schmutzler
Robert Owen 5 | 2 Shane Hayward
Robert Thornton 5 | 1 Adrian Gray
David Wawrzewski 5 | 2 Rene Eidams
Christian Kist 5 | 4 Jacques Labre
Llew Bevan 5 | 4 Arjan Konterman
John Bowles 5 | 4 Mark McGeeney
Prakash Jiwa 5 | 3 Ben Quenby

Robert Owen 5 | 1 Matthew Dennant
Robert Thornton 5 | 2 David Wawrzewski
Christian Kist 5 | 3 Llew Bevan
John Bowles 5 | 0 Prakash Jiwa

Robert Owen 5 | 4 Robert Thornton
Christian Kist 5 | 3 John Bowles

Robert Owen 5 | 2 Christian Kist

CT17 Results 

Last 16
Karel Sedlacek 5 | 4 Danny Lauby
Lukas Wenig 5 | 1 Alan Norris
Dan Read 5 | 3 Thibault Tricole
Robert Thornton 5 | 2 Matthew Dennant
Martijn Dragt 5 | 4 Scott Marsh
Jurjen van der Velde 5 | 2 Scott Taylor
Wesley Plaisier 5 | 3 Raymond Marshall
Lewis Pride 5 | 3 Owen Roelofs

Karel Sedlacek 5 | 1 Lukas Wenig
Robert Thornton 5 | 0 Dan Read
Martijn Dragt 5 | 3 Jurjen van der Velde
Wesley Plaisier 5 | 3 Lewis Pride

Robert Thornton 5 | 3 Karel Sedlacek
Wesley Plaisier 5 | 2 Martijn Dragt

Wesley Plaisier 5 | 3 Robert Thornton

Full results can be found on DartConnect