Robb and Parry book the final places in the New Zealand Darts Masters

In this month’s TAB New Zealand Darts Masters, Ben Robb and Warren Parry have clinched the final two berths after the DPNZ ProTour doubleheader in Christchurch last weekend.

The third and last World Series event in August, held at the Globox Arena in Hamilton from August 26–27, will feature Robb and Parry, who represented New Zealand at this year’s World Cup of Darts.

Prior to the qualification cut-off, the top two slots on the DPNZ Order of Merit were held by the pair. Robb solidified the top spot with back-to-back victories.

After convincing wins over Kayden Milne and Jamie Roberts, the 33-year-old sealed Saturday’s championship with a 7-5 triumph over Mark Cleaver, a three-time World Series qualifier.

In the Sunday championship match, Robb defeated Parry convincingly 7-2, average 91 and hitting three maximums to clinch the weekend sweep.

After overcoming Hipi Tewhakaara and Darren Herewini in the closing stages of his run to Sunday’s final, Parry will make his first appearance on the World Series stage since 2018.

Following Mal Cuming’s victory in the DPA Qualifier in New South Wales, the World Cup duo will be joined in Hamilton by their fellow countrymen Milne and Bernie Smith, who advanced from last month’s World Series qualifiers.

Robb and Parry book the final places in the New Zealand Darts Masters
Robb and Parry book the final places in the New Zealand Darts Masters (PDC)

The eight regional representatives also include Australia’s World Cup of Darts champions Damon Heta and Simon Whitlock, with PDC Tour Card Holder Gordon Mathers rounding out the group.

Michael van Gerwen, who won the most recent NZ Darts Masters in 2019 and has already won the Premier League and World Matchplay championships this year, will be the face of the eight PDC stars competing in Hamilton.

There are also ten-time TV champion James Wade, US Darts Masters champion Michael Smith, 2022 Masters champion Joe Cullen, and Women’s World Matchplay champion Fallon Sherrock in addition to the Welsh combo of world number one Gerwyn Price and reigning World Series Finals champion Jonny Clayton.

Peter Wright, the current World Champion, is replaced in the lineup by Dimitri Van den Bergh, a two-time winner on the World Series circuit this year. Peter Wright withdrew from the tripleheader in August due to medical reasons.