Hungarian Darts Trophy Day 1 Schedule.

This weekend sees the inaugural Hungarian Darts Trophy gets underway in Budapest at the László Papp Budapest Sports Arena over the next three days. The historic event will be the first PDC ranking tournament to be held in Hungary.

The top 16 players from the ProTour Order of Merit are seeded and enter at the Second Round on Saturday, while 31 qualifiers battle it out for the right to join them.

Sadly Danny Noppert had to withdraw following the passing of his father. Rob Cross was bumped up to become a seed, seeing William O’Connor receive a bye to Round Two.

All the action is streamed live across the weekend click here to find out how to watch.

The Nordic and Baltic qualifier, Johan Engstrom, will open proceedings. Engstrom will have a busy month ahead of him, as he will also compete in the Nordic Darts Masters in Copenhagen in the middle of September.

Adrian Lewis, a two-time World Champion, hopes to begin his campaign by defeating reigning World Youth Champion Bradley Brooks, who won the Development Tour last month. This is one of the standout matches on day one of the Hungarian Darts Trophy.

Richard Veenstra, a former Lakeside semi-finalist, makes his European Tour debut against Keegan Brown, a former World Youth champion.

Geert Nentjes, a Dutch left-hander, faces Geert De Vos, a Belgian ace who earned a Tour Card from Qualifying School earlier this year.

With a match against previous ProTour event winner Joe Murnan, János Végs, one of four Host Nation qualifiers in the field, makes his first Euro Tour participation since 2016.

Croatia’s Boris Krcmar will play the former World Youth finalist Czech youngster Adam Gawlas. Keane Barry the much talked about the young star from Ireland meets UK Associate Member Qualifier Thomas Lovely.

Former European Champion Simon Whitlock will face former Players Championship Finals semi-finalist Darren Webster in the evening session.

Former Euro Tour champions Daryl Gurney and Vincent van der Voort compete for the privilege to face Michael van Gerwen in Round Two.

Luke Humphries, a UK Open finalist, will face Latvian ace Madars Razma in the first round, while Scotland’s Alan Soutar will make his Euro Tour debut against Hungarian prospect Jozsef Rucska.

Former World Champion Steve Beaton takes on Greek number one John Michael, while recent ProTour winner Ross Smith takes on home debutant Peter Strbik.

Florian Hempel of Germany takes on Jake Jones, a fellow PDC rookie, on Saturday, with the winner facing Peter Wright.


Hungarian Darts Trophy Day 1 Schedule
Hungarian Darts Trophy Day 1 Schedule

Hungarian Darts Trophy 2021 Schedule

All times BST

Friday September 3

First Round
Afternoon Session (12pm-4pm)
Johan Engström v William Borland
Geert Nentjes v Geert De Vos
Richard Veenstra v Keegan Brown
János Végső v Joe Murnan
Thomas Lovely v Keane Barry
Boris Krcmar v Adam Gawlas
Gabor Jagica v Lewis Williams

Evening Session (6pm-10pm)
Florian Hempel v Jake Jones
Peter Strbik v Ross Smith
Alan Soutar v Jozsef Rucska
Luke Humphries v Madars Razma
Adrian Lewis v Bradley Brooks
Steve Beaton v John Michael
Simon Whitlock v Darren Webster
Vincent van der Voort v Daryl Gurney