Scotland win the World Cup for the second time.

The Scots defeated Austria to win the PDC World Cup for the second time.  Peter Wright won it with Scotland in 2019 however, his partner back then Gary Anderson decided against playing in this year’s event, and it was John Henderson who partnered Peter Wright to victory this time.

  • The wait for a title for MvG goes on
  • 2020 champions defeated in the Semi Finals
  • Hosts Germany defeated by England

The Final

First up in the final it was Mensur Suljovic who defeated John Henderson 4-1, which included a 160 checkout from the Austrian. Peter Wright then levelled the scores up going into the doubles with a 4-1 win. The key leg in this game was leg four, with Rowby-John missing 3 darts to win the leg and Peter Wright punishing the misses to break the throw.

We then went to the doubles and Austria started very strong. Captain Mensur put in an inspired start which included an 82 checkout in leg three while Scotland were sat on double to take a 3-0 lead. Leg four Henderson took out 58 before starting the next leg with a 180. After several missed darts at a double for The Scots, and two missed match darts by Rowby-John it was Peter Wright who cleaned up the leg on double three. The drama certainly continued in leg six with Wright missing three darts at double, followed by another missed match dart by Rowby-John. This time it was Hendo who took out the double.

The deciding leg started with some nervy darts until we saw a 140 from Wright and Suljovic. It was Austria who were first down to a checkout with Rowby-John coming back for 100 with Scotland on 137. Rowby-John could only hit 40 and Peter Wright left Scotland on tops. Mensur then missed two match darts and it was over to John Henderson again to win it for Scotland and put them 2-1 in front.

In the final game the two captains met. It seemed like both players were still recovering from the drama of the doubles with a slow start however, Peter Wrights 156 checkout in leg four for a 3-1 lead woke up both players. In leg five Wright missed five match darts which Mensur punished, and then in leg six he took out the double with the last dart in hand with Wright on 32. In the last leg Wright finally won it for Scotland with a 49 checkout.

Peter Wright’s beats Mensur to win the World Cup. Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

2020 champions lose in the Semi Finals

The Welsh World Cup winning team of Jonny Clayton and Gerwyn Price were unable to get past the Scots. As we saw in the Quarter Finals Scotland stuck with Henderson going first and he defeated the current World Champion 4-2. We came close to a nine darter in this game with Price coming inside on double for The Perfect Nine.

John Henderson playing at the World Darts Championship
John Henderson wins first PDC title. Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

The pressure was then on Jonny Clayton to take this encounter to a doubles and he stepped up to the plate with a 4-2 reeling off the last 3 legs. In the doubles Scotland took an early 2-0 lead before the Welsh reeled off the next three legs. The next 2 legs we saw Scotland really step it up and it was John Henderson hitting the winning double again.

In the second Semi Final it was Captain Mensur who put in the single performance of the week averaging 109 to beat James Wade 4-1. In the second game Rowby-John wanted to follow the lead of his captain and averaged 102 and took out 128 in leg four to defeat Dave Chisnall by the same score line.

Quarter Final despair for The Dutch

In the days action we saw two of the four games need the deciding doubles game with both of those going to The Noble leg. One of the victors in the last leg were Scotland who defeated Netherlands 4-3 in the doubles game. This game was the start of the change of the order for Scotland with Peter Wright moving to the second game. Michael van Gerwen defeated John Henderson, before Peter Wright Dirk with both scores being 4-1. John Henderson redeemed himself in the doubles match taking out the winning double.

Austria were the other team who needed the doubles to make it into the evenings action. Ireland went 1-0 up in games before Rowby-John got the better of Daryl Gurney. In the doubles Austria punished missed match darts from Ireland to progress.

In the other two Quarter Finals, England defeated Germany only dropping on leg in process. It was also the end of the road for Australia with Price and Clayton both winning their games.


Austria 2-1 Northern Ireland

Singles One: Mensur Suljovic 3-4 Brendan Dolan

Singles Two: Rowby-John Rodriguez 4-2 Daryl Gurney

Doubles: Austria 4-3 Northern Ireland

England 2-0 Germany

Singles One: James Wade 4-1 Gabriel Clemens

Singles Two: Dave Chisnall 4-0 Max Hopp

Doubles (not required):

Wales 2-0 Australia

Singles One: Gerwyn Price 4-1 Simon Whitlock

Singles Two: Jonny Clayton 4-3 Damon Heta

Doubles (not required):

Netherlands 1-2 Scotland

Singles One: Michael van Gerwen 4-1 John Henderson

Singles Two: Dirk van Duijvenbode 1-4 Peter Wright

Doubles: Netherlands 3-4 Scotland


England 0-2 Austria

Singles One: James Wade 1-4 Mensur Suljovic

Singles Two: Dave Chisnall 1-4 Rowby-John Rodriguez

Doubles (not required): England v Austria

Wales 1-2 Scotland

Singles One: Gerwyn Price 2-4 John Henderson

Singles Two: Jonny Clayton 4-2 Peter Wright

Doubles: Wales 3-4 Scotland


Austria v Scotland

Mensur Suljovic 4-1 John Henderson

Peter Wright 4-1 Rowby-John Rodriguez

Scotland 4-3 Austria

Peter Wright 4-3 Mensur Suljovic

(not required) Rowby-John Rodriguez v John Henderson