Michael van Gerwen claims the European Darts Open for his 35th Euro Tour title in Leverkusen.

With an 8-5 victory over Dimitri Van den Bergh in Sunday’s Interwetten European Darts Open final in Leverkusen, Michael van Gerwen won his third PDC European Tour championship of 2022.

The Dutchman has already won in Hildesheim and Graz this year, including the Austrian Darts Open last weekend, and has now secured his 35th European Tour victory.

On Saturday, Van Gerwen defeated Daryl Gurney, and in the third round, he defeated Cazoo Premier League foe Jonny Clayton to start a fantastic day at the Ostermann-Arena.

He then beat Dirk van Duijvenbode in a decider after the latter was penalised for missing match darts in the last two legs of their quarter-final.

Van Gerwen beat Luke Humphries 7-2 in the semi-finals, avenging a loss to the former World Youth Champion in the recent German Darts Grand Prix.

He then held off Van den Bergh’s challenge to take the £25,000 top prize and won his third consecutive Leverkusen tournament.

Van Gerwen claims the European Darts Open for his 35th Euro Tour title
Van Gerwen claims the European Darts Open for his 35th Euro Tour title (Kais Bodensieck/PDC Europe)

“It was really hard and I’m glad I won,” said Van Gerwen, who averaged 102.49 in the final.

 “Dimitri is a phenomenal player, he always pushes me and he’s a good player and a good guy. Sometimes he’s a bit naive but I like him, and I think he’s good for darts.

 “The crowd today were phenomenal and I can’t wish for anything more. It’s always amazing in Leverkusen.”

With a 6-4 third-round win over Martin Schindler, Van den Bergh ended German hopes in the tournament, and a magnificent 6-1 quarter-final triumph over Josh Rock, he finished six doubles from seven attempts.

After James Wade withdrew from their semi-final due to sickness, he was given a bye into his maiden European Tour final.

Wade had been in outstanding form all weekend, defeating Jose de Sousa and Ryan Searle on Sunday.

Interwetten European Darts Open

Sunday May 8

Afternoon Session

Third Round

Nathan Aspinall 6-5 Gerwyn Price

Luke Humphries 6-4 Brendan Dolan

Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-3 Joe Cullen

Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Jonny Clayton

Josh Rock 6-2 Scott Williams

Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-4 Martin Schindler

James Wade 6-4 Jose de Sousa

Ryan Searle 6-5 Dave Chisnall


Evening Session 


Luke Humphries 6-3 Nathan Aspinall

Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Dirk van Duijvenbode

Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-1 Josh Rock

James Wade 6-5 Ryan Searle



Michael van Gerwen 7-2 Luke Humphries

Dimitri Van den Bergh Bye (James Wade withdrew through illness)



Michael van Gerwen 8-5 Dimitri Van den Bergh


The Gambrinus Czech Darts Open takes place in Prague from May 13-15, continuing the PDC European Tour.