World Cup of Darts 2022 Preview

The 2022 Cazoo World Cup of Darts begins in Germany on Thursday as the annual 32-nation festival of darts returns to Frankfurt’s Eissporthalle.

Scotland looking to make it a double.
Scotland looking to make it a double in Frankfurt

This year’s World Cup of Darts marks the 12th edition of the popular pairs event, which will see 32 countries represented by two-player teams from June 16-19.

Scotland looking to defend

Scotland’s Peter Wright and John Henderson are bidding to defend their crown across the four-day event at the Eissporthalle, with Wright eyeing a third World Cup triumph in four years.

Wright and Henderson Reunite in Frankfurt
Wright and Henderson Reunite in Frankfurt

The eighth seeds defeated Austria to secure a second World Cup success 12 months ago, and they will open their campaign against Hong Kong duo Lok Yin Lee & Ho Tung Ching on Friday night.

World Champion Wright retains last year’s successful pairing with Henderson, who is aiming to emulate the greatest day of his career in Frankfurt this weekend after being given the blessing of Gary Anderson to remain in the Scotland team.

England looking for first title since 2016

The new pairing of Michael Smith and James Wade lead the charge for top seeds England, who are eyeing a fifth World Cup crown, but a first since 2016.

Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis led England to their previous four victories but having scooped five titles within the last month, Smith comes into this in a confident mood ahead of the clash against Czech duo Adam Gawlas and Karel Sedlacek on Friday.

Wales at Full Force in Germany

Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton will represent Wales for a fifth consecutive year, and the 2020 champions are highly-fancied to double their tally this weekend.

Clayton and Price aiming to return the trophy to Wales
Clayton and Price aiming to return the trophy to Wales

The second seeds headline Thursday’s opening night of first-round action against the Philippines, and the World Cup harbours special memories for Clayton, who has enjoyed a meteoric rise since their 2020 triumph.

No MvG for the Third Seeds

Four-time winners Netherlands boast a new-look pairing in the absence of Michael van Gerwen, with UK Open champion Danny Noppert teaming up alongside Dirk van Duijvenbode ahead of their first-round clash against Brazil on Thursday.

Dimitri Van den Bergh and Kim Huybrechts renew their partnership for 2013 runners-up Belgium, and the fourth seeds will face 2019 semi-finalists Japan in a tricky opener.

Dimi and Kim looking to bring home maiden World Cup.
Dimi and Kim looking to bring home their maiden World Cup.

Australian number one Damon Heta and World Cup ever-present Simon Whitlock take on Lithuania, led by Darius Labanauskas, while Northern Irish duo Daryl Gurney and Brendan Dolan – another who has played in all 11 previous World Cups – continue their bid for maiden glory.

Competing Nations & Pairings

Australia – Damon Heta & Simon Whitlock

Austria – Mensur Suljovic & Rowby-John Rodriguez

Belgium – Dimitri Van den Bergh & Kim Huybrechts

Brazil – Diogo Portela & Artur Valle

Canada – Jeff Smith & Matt Campbell

Czech Republic – Adam Gawlas & Karel Sedlacek

Denmark – Vladimir Andersen & Andreas Toft Jörgensen

England – Michael Smith & James Wade

Finland – Marko Kantele & Aki Paavilainen

Germany – Gabriel Clemens & Martin Schindler

Gibraltar – Justin Hewitt & Craig Galliano

Hong Kong – Lok Yin Lee & Ho Tung Ching

Hungary – Nándor Prés & Gergely Lakatos

Italy – Guiseppe Di Rocco & Gabriel Rollo

Japan – Tomoya Goto & Toru Suzuki

Latvia – Madars Razma & Nauris Gleglu

Lithuania – Darius Labanauskas & Mindaugas Barauskas

Netherlands – Danny Noppert & Dirk van Duijvenbode

New Zealand – Ben Robb & Warren Parry

Northern Ireland – Daryl Gurney & Brendan Dolan

Philippines – Lourence Ilagan & RJ Escaros

Poland – Krzysztof Ratajski & Sebastian Bialecki

Portugal – Jose de Sousa & Vítor Jerónimo

Republic of Ireland – William O’Connor & Steve Lennon

Scotland – Peter Wright & John Henderson

Singapore – Paul Lim & Harith Lim

South Africa – Devon Petersen & Stefan Vermaak

Spain – Jose Justicia & Tony Martinez

Sweden – Daniel Larsson & Johan Engstrom

Switzerland – Stefan Bellmont & Thomas Junghans

USA – Danny Baggish & Jules van Dongen

Wales – Gerwyn Price & Jonny Clayton

Schedule of Play

Thursday June 16 (1900 local time)

First Round x8

Denmark v Singapore

New Zealand v Switzerland

Republic of Ireland v Canada

Austria v Finland

Northern Ireland v Gibraltar

Wales v Philippines

Germany v Spain

Netherlands v Brazil

Friday June 17 (1900 local time)

First Round x8

Latvia v Hungary

Poland v USA

Sweden v South Africa

Portugal v Italy

Australia v Lithuania

England v Czech Republic

Scotland v Hong Kong

Belgium v Japan

Saturday June 18

Afternoon Session (1300 local time)

Second Round x4

Evening Session (1900 local time)

Second Round x4

Sunday June 19

Afternoon Session (1300 local time)


Evening Session (1900 local time)



Draw Bracket

(1) England v Czech Republic

Latvia v Hungary

(8) Scotland v Hong Kong

Portugal v Italy

(4) Belgium v Japan

Poland v USA

(5) Australia v Lithuania

Sweden v South Africa

(2) Wales v Philippines

Austria v Finland

(7) Germany v Spain

Denmark v Singapore

(3) Netherlands v Brazil

Republic of Ireland v Canada

(6) Northern Ireland v Gibraltar

New Zealand v Switzerland


World Cup of Darts 2022 Preview