World Cup of Darts Day 3: Wales squeeze through as seeds make up quarter final spots

Favourites Wales were taken to a pairs deciding leg but eventually got past last year’s runners up Austria as all eight seeded countries advanced to Sunday’s quarter finals.

Favourites Avoid Upset

Wales advanced to Sunday’s quarter finals at the expense of Austria as Gerwyn Price become the first player in World Cup of Darts history to hit 3 100+ checkouts in a single match. Price started his singles match with Mensur Suljovic by taking out 156 in the opening leg. Suljovic held in the next leg before four successive breaks followed, the final leg of the sequence seeing Price take out 149 as Suljovic threw for the match. That took it to a decider where ‘The Iceman’ took out 142 to give Wales a 1-0 lead.

Rowby-John Rodriguez hit three maximums as he defeated Jonny Clayton 4-2 to take the tie into the deciding pairs rubber. A tense match went with the darts despite numerous break opportunities before Wales’ extra quality told and their clinched victory with their sixth match dart.

Noppy and Dirk Impress To Defeat Former Finalists

Danny Noppert and Dirk van Duijvenbode put on a maximum masterclass as Holland swept aside 2019 runners up Ireland. ‘Noppy’ hit five 180s as he eased past William O’Connor, averaging almost 100. Not to be outdone, ‘The Aubergenius’ hit four of his own whilst averaging over 110.

Elsewhere, England, Scotland and Australia also needed to win their pairs matches before booking their quarter final spots. Madars Razma beat James Wade to take their tie all the way before England won through 4-2. Jose De Sousa defeated Peter Wright to take their tie to the doubles rubber but Scotland claimed the win without dropping a leg. Daniel Larsson earned the notable scalp of Damon Heta but it wasn’t to be enough as Australia eventually won through 4-2 in the pairs.

Belgium Ease Through

Dimitri van den Bergh and Kim Huybrechts made light work of tricky opponents as Belgium advanced at the expense of Poland. ‘Dancing Dimitri’ dropped just one leg as he beat Krzysztof Ratajski. Huybrechts then beat rising star Sebastian Bialecki to complete victory.

Daryl Gurney and Brendan Dolan both hit ton plus checkouts as Northern Ireland beat New Zealand. Gurney took out 117 during his 4-2 victory over Ben Robb. Dolan then took out 107 as he beat Warren Parry by the same scoreline.

Germany sailed through to the quarter finals at the expense of Denmark. Gabriel Clemens and Martin Schindler claimed 4-1 victories over Andreas Toft Jorgensen and Vladimir Andersen respectively.


2022 Cazoo World Cup of Darts
Saturday June 18
Afternoon Session (1300 local time)
Second Round x4
All matches the best of seven legs
Northern Ireland 2-0 New Zealand
Singles One: 
Daryl Gurney 4-2 Ben Robb
Singles Two: Brendan Dolan 4-2 Warren Parry
Doubles (not required): Northern Ireland v New Zealand

Netherlands 2-0 Republic of Ireland
Singles One: 
Danny Noppert 4-1 William O’Connor
Singles Two: Dirk van Duijvenbode 4-1 Steve Lennon
Doubles (not required): Netherlands v Republic of Ireland

Wales 2-1 Austria
Singles One: 
Gerwyn Price 4-3 Mensur Suljovic
Singles Two: Rowby-John Rodriguez 4-2 Jonny Clayton
Doubles: Wales 4-3 Austria

Germany 2-0 Denmark
Singles One: 
Martin Schindler 4-1 Vladimir Andersen
Singles Two: Gabriel Clemens 4-1 Andreas Toft Jorgensen
Doubles (not required): Germany v Denmark

Evening Session (1900 local time)
Australia v Sweden

Singles One: Simon Whitlock 4-3 Johan Engstrom
Singles Two: Damon Heta 3-4 Daniel Larsson
Doubles: Australia 4-1 Sweden

Belgium v Poland
Singles One: 
Dimitri Van den Bergh 4-1 Krzysztof Ratajski
Singles Two: Kim Huybrechts 4-2 Sebastian Bialecki
Doubles (not required): Belgium v Poland

England v Latvia
Singles One: 
Michael Smith 4-0 Nauris Gleglu
Singles Two: James Wade 3-4 Madars Razma
Doubles: England 4-2 Latvia

Scotland v Portugal
Singles One: 
John Henderson 4-0 Vítor Jerónimo
Singles Two: Peter Wright 3-4 Jose De Sousa
Doubles: Scotland 4-0 Portugal

Sunday June 19
Afternoon Session (1300 local time)

Netherlands v Northern Ireland
Wales v Germany
Belgium v Australia
England v Scotland